Close to the real thing

Good morning Sydneysiders,

Ever have one of those days when you’ve woken up with a song stuck in your head? I have and quite often, at that. Most of the times they’re songs that put a huge smile across my face for the rest of the day. However, occasionally they’re the kind that makes me wonder what kind of playlist my brain listens to on Spotify when I’m asleep!
Thankfully, this morning I woke up with one of my favorite Marvin Gaye songs called “ Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing”. For those of you who haven’t listened to the song before, DO IT AS SOON AS YOU FINISH READING THIS POST!
Anyway, the first thing I did after getting out of bed was to listen to the song on YouTube. Once I finished listening to it for the fifth time, I noticed on the side a Beyonce & Justin Timberlake version of the song. Now, I’m usually not one to listen to a lot of covers but in this case I was actually very keen. I think Beyonce and Justin Timberlake are two amazingly gifted singers and performers of our time. And honestly, after watching the video I feel that they did complete justice to the song. But you don’t have to take my word for it, go ahead and check it out yourself.

What I like most about their performance is the fact that apart from increasing the tempo, they stayed true to the original from beginning till end, unlike many covers. I definitely feel that Beyonce and Justin make good singing partners and wish they would do more songs together. Although, I did hear that JT is working along with Beyonce on her upcoming album. But don’t quote me on that. I’ve watched their performance of Ain’t Nothing LikeThe Real Thing for the eighth time now and even though no cover would ever be as good as the real thing, this one is by far the closest.

Until I wake up with another blog piece in my head,
Bizou bizou,
D

Leave a Reply

