From ‘Same’ with ‘Love’

Hey there fellow Sydney-siders,

I’m back with yet another post. I must be honest with you, I did not intend on writing a post today. I was planning on going out with a friend today because the weather is soooo good outside. However, my friend has a few errands to run before that and in the meantime I was just catching up on some daily news. That’s when I stumbled across an article that said that the issue of same-sex marriage in NSW is a step closer to being achievable. I think that’s fantastic news for the LGBTQ community here.
I strongly believe that everyone, and I mean everyone, has the right to share their love and life with that special someone and the fact that it is still a right that ‘needs to be fought for’ is quite saddening. And that’s where such news comes as a silver lining.

And as you’ve guessed this post is about same-sex marriage. Uhmmm No. I’ll save that for another post. As I was reading the article on same-sex marriage in NSW, I had the radio on and what song should come up but ‘Same Love by Macklemore’. Perfect timing I’d say! And that got me thinking about the acceptance of homosexuality in the music world. Until now, every male singer in the biz has sung his songs for the lovely ladies and every female singer has sung her songs for the handsome men, respectively. No-one, ever imagined there would come a time where singers would openly sing about acceptance of the LGBTQ community and furthermore openly gay singers would make videos of same-sex love.  I for one was doubtful that singers would ever dare to portray gay love in the music videos.

However, my doubts were soon put to rest when I found the two clips below:

Image

 Watch “Young Love’ by Eli Lieb at http://youtu.be/0jPba9WJCzE

Image

Watch ‘All American Boy’ by Steve Grand at http://youtu.be/pjiyjYCwNyY

It is refreshing to see that young gay singers are finally stepping out into the limelight with music and music videos that depict their true self and feelings. Kudos to them! And kudos to the many supporters who’ve made it possible for them!

As always, I’d like to hear your views and inputs. Follow me on

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/deepak.matthew

Twitter: https://twitter.com/OfficialMattJay

Instagram:  http://instagram.com/burgerkingcomet

Leave a Reply

